Vignaioli e Vini d’Italia 2016 – wine guide (200 producers only)

I do regret not writing here for so long again … But I can’t help it …

I’m still trying to find my way in this world … to understand what to do and where’s my place in this tiny planet.

Florence’s my home town but still … here is so difficult to find a job despite all experiences and qualifications … and actually because of them! My CV is too much! (you could see it on Linked-In, I have even an English version). So I am still without a job … and from this blog I am not getting any money at all! I am doing it just for my personal pleasure of sharing …

Anyway … I didn’t want it to sound as an excuse, but I do need enthusiasm to write, and now I have to confess for so many reasons I’m feeling a bit down. Not sure of anything anymore …

I wish my passion for the wine world could never end.

Anyway.

Today I’m gonna tell you about the presentation I’ve been two days ago about the new wine guide written by the famous Sommelier Luca Gardini and Luciano Ferraro from the Corriere newspaper.

20151119_202336

There were none of them, but another guy from the Corriere newspaper, a journalist too, his name Marco Tonelli. He presented the guide (4th edition) introducing also some producers present, who spoke about their wines.

Location we were on the top of the Mercato Centrale, in Florence.

20151119_184213

In this guide no scores, just descriptions.

First producer who spoke was Matteo Bisol, andh his winery Venissa, in Venice. The wine he is producing Bianco Venissa, just 4000 bottles per year, a grape variety Dorona, locally discovered on a small island in the Venice laguna.

Then Maeli winery and Elisa Dilavanzo (not present, but there was a person working in her winery who explained at her place the soil …). The wine Fior d’Arancio, a Moscato Giallo Colli Euganei DOCG.

After her, I Clivi, with Silvan Primosic present and speaking even if now the winery is in the hands of his sons. His winery with some vines just 2 metres from the Solvenian border. The wine he presented was his “orange wine”, a name he said he doesn’t like to use to describe what is a wine with an incredible colour just coming from a 3/4 weeks of maceration with the skins … a very special Ribolla Gialla.

After him, Mario Zanusso, in Udine province, with his Collio DOC, a Friulano grape wine.

Then a “name” to her wines and her winery Elena Walch in person. Making wine since 1869. Now with her daughters improving the winery. Even a very special project of aging the wines in a cave at 2000 mt, 6 km of depth …

After this a less old winery, founded in 1980, I Balzini with Antonella D’Isanto. Vines growing in a soil very rich of fossils. International and local grapes: Cabernet Sauvignon and Sangiovese in a 50% blend.

And to finish in Umbria Region, Bernardo Barberani and the Barberani winery with a very special “Sauternes” kind of wine. Botrytis Cinerea in the Corbara lake area …

20151119_18420120151119_19453520151119_194554

WINES ON TASTING:

First wine I’ve tried Clivi, Brazan 2013 Collio DOC: mineral, elegant Friulano grape. Pear, fresh, just a touch of light bitterness in the end.

Second wine Blanc de Morgex et de la Salle DOC Nathan 2013 from the Ermes Pavese winery, not present (pity): flowers (magnolia), but not sweet. Goosberry, green apple, asparagus, physalis alkekengi … Freshly bitter. Interesting.

Ribolla di Oslavia Riserva 2011 from Primosic winery: beautiful apricot, elegant, golden apple, quince, not sweet, actually a touch of a pleasant astringency, but not that fresh, on the contrary very long with a greenish touch. Really beautiful.

Ludwig 2013, Pinot Noir signed by Elena Walch: fruity, red berries, pomengrade, dark notes; spices come out after: pepper, liquorice, dark cherry and dark chocolate, sigar box. Fresh.

I Balzini White Label 2012, not yet in commerce, still closed. Fresh.

San Lorenzo: Sassotondo winery (not present, a winery in the heart of Maremma), vintage 2011. Cherry, blackberries, fresh with still a bit young tannins, live. The grape is Cigliegiolo, local.

From Venissa I’ve tried the Venissa 2011, red of Merlot and Cabernet. Very elegant, fresh with tomatoes and cherries flavours, not “big”, smooth even if lively. Unique.

Moscato Giallo 2014 Maeli: green apple, golden apple. Sweet at the entrance. Floral.

And I’ve finished with the “Sauternes” like Muffa Nobile Calcaia 2012 Orvieto Classico Superiore DOC 2012: long, apricots, dates. Elegant.

It has been an interesting tasting. It’s a shame that in the guide are missing some producers for me very clever who make excellent wines too, but who am I to judge? And the wine world is really huge … and personal taste sometimes matters too …

So thanks for reading me and see you next post …

I am still looking for a job … as I’ve written at the beginning of this post, any ideas?

And with this blog I would like to say it again, I’m not earning anything so …

But I will go on writing because to write for me is a need I can’t stop. And I guess we all should be able to go on doing what we love, no matter what.

Thanks again.

See you next …

Take care

Barbara

 

 

About barbara1979

I've been writing since I was a child. Poems, stories, now I've also published my first novel (already winner of 2 literary prizes) but just in Italy in Italian and I need to find a literary agent to publish it in English outside Italy. For me writing is like breathing. The title of my novel in English would be: I don't want to admit that I love you. For now just published in Italian for the Italian market, where I am bound to my editor till when I want to. I am free worldwide. I've lived in London for 4 years and I've translated my novel myself. Need to find a Literary Agent to find a publisher to revise it and publish it in English worldwide. I am dreaming of making a movie out of it soon. So looking also for producers to believe in it as I do. Not banal, lots of characters and a surprising plot to rediscover the real meaning of love. Check on LinkedIn for my full CV profile. Looking forward to hear from you!
This entry was posted in guide, Uncategorized, wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Vignaioli e Vini d’Italia 2016 – wine guide (200 producers only)

  1. Keep the passion up, faith, and hard work Barbara. It always pays in the end, if only for your own satisfaction of having given it your best 🙂

Leave a comment